I was given a watch from my aunt, an old pocket watch. It was encased in a blue leather case and shone a brilliant gold. It was so beautiful and it was always by my side. I had it for years and it just kept ticking away, never stopped. I was so fortunate back then. Pocket watches and keys are everything to me. One day though, I felt something strange. A fleeting feeling that came but never left. I looked over at my aunt’s watch and it stopped and never worked again. I realized a few minutes afterwards that she had passed away, right when the watch stopped. I cried and cried and cried, I haven’t been the same since. This happened a few weeks ago and all I can think about is the watch that will never work again. You can say it’s a coincidence but I don’t think so. Now, watches just remind me of death. Every clock stops eventually and every watch signifies life ticking away. I wear my heart around my neck, my Clockwork Heart, in the shape of a watch, reminding me of the time that is left. I wear a Beloved Bell to control my sanity and keep me from lashing out. I wear a Lock and Key to remind myself to keep my thoughts locked up inside my head. The things I loved the most, are now the things that hold me down. That poem struck my heart again and now I must recover. Show no emotion, no regard, no weakness, for fear that I will crumble and not be able to piece myself together again. Never again.

 

The pieces that are capitalized are either works that have already been created or are in creation right now. Look forward to those!

 

Clockwork Heart: Created

Beloved Bell: In Progress

Lock and Key: In Progress