For James,

Thank you for coming into my life and picking me up in the moments I felt most vulnerable and lost. I don’t know where I’d be if it weren’t for you and for this reason, I dedicate this true story to you.

Thank you so much.

 

 

 

 

 

 

A glass cannon, an etymology if it can be described as a person or thing that has better offence than defense. I am the definition of a glass cannon with my shining yet cracked skin, my reflective eyes that soak up all the light of the sun, and the fragile yet strong emotions I have. Made by the best glass-workers in the world – I am their masterpiece, a complete glass cannon, but they messed up in the end. The gave me a flame, a burning core. An Aries with a wicked hot temper as rampant as a forest fire, it is not safe to have a glass frame keeping that fire encased in eternal flame. There is someone, who time and time again, has tried to break through my glass shell, for I am a glass cannon, threatening to break and let the fire inside, all of the fear, all of the hatred, burn everything to the ground.

 

I won’t let you.

 

Not now.

 

Not yet.

 

I. I am burning. I am not safe, no one is safe. I will unleash all of my pain and suffering, will burn. I am not safe. I will let my flame hurt everyone and no one can stop it. I am not safe and no one can piece me together. I am the darkness that hides in the corners, lies, hatred, ignorance, a loose rope. I will not break but I will unleash the fire and keep my emotions hidden. No one gets to see the truth behind the mask and I won’t be hurt. I will not be shown forgiveness because I am an Aries, the worst kind, one who wears a mask. No one will shatter it, no one will see what I am. No one will save me and no one can save everyone else I hurt.

 

No one is with me, I am not okay.

 

You, You douse the flame, You save me, save everyone around me, the pain that fuels the fire and unleashes in times of great suffering, You doused me. You saved me. You don’t let that flame hurt anyone yet You don’t let it go out completely. You saved me in dire situations and pieced me together again. You are the light that seeps through the cracks, truth, comfort, sympathy, a means to an end. You manage to break the glass and control the fire and reveal what is behind the facade. You wanted to see the true me and so You broke the glass and controlled the flame that has never been held by another. You showed me feelings unimaginable for an Aries like myself, especially one who wears a mask all the time. You have shattered it, You have seen the true me. You saved me today and may save another, someone like me. Even now,

 

You are here with me, making sure I am okay.

 

 

 

 

But…

 

Silence is violent.

 

Masks always come back.

 

My unheard pleas for freedom from this mask that restrains me, restrains my feelings, my thoughts, my love. I can’t escape it forever but You can free me of it even just for a little while. If you could, could You save me from my fate of endless silence? I will forever be grateful and when that time comes, all there will be is a mask left behind and an empty, broken glass cannon. A reminder of what I once was and never will be again. Silence is violent and my flames know this, for they have burned me in a breathless scream.

 

You will save me though won’t you…?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Save me before the silence swallows me whole!

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have you.

 

You are

s

a

f

e

 

Thank you James for staying beside me when I needed it most. Even at this moment you continue to talk to me and break this mask and this glass shell that hides my true emotions. I have shed many tears, but none will count more than when you are with me. I love you so much, and to my sisters, stay strong, for us, for you, for me. You are not alone in this fight, you just need to turn to the right people and let them break the mask and the shell that holds you.

 

 

 

This piece took FOREVER to create despite how small it is. I had a terrible week full of bad things and events a few weeks ago and this story is the result of all the emotions that happened. I cried and cried and my emotions allowed me to get past a writers block I’d been having for at least a month. An entire day of crying produced this piece and I couldnt of been happier to see it finished. My friend James, the person who encouraged me and stood by me, had broken my mask and got me to cry and before you say anything, yes I told him to make me cry both happy and sad tears cause I really needed to get this finished and it was too perfect for me not to write my feelings. If you are reading this, look over towards me and see if this story is accurate to what you see in me. This is how I see myself and I hate when people break my frame and my mask, I really do, but I encourage it because you’ll get to know me better. Yes I already know that I always look angry, don’t take it personally, it’s just my face. stupid RBF. (If you dont know what it means, look it up.)

Anyways, This took a lot of effort and tears (literally) to create and I couldn’t be happier with it. Really wish it was a poem though. Hope you all enjoyed this and I would appreciate any feedback!

– /\X

 

Words: 1044

Bolded: I, You, Safe, Won’t, Before, The, Silence, Swallows, Me, Whole, Violent, Is, Masks, Always, Come, Back, But, …, Let, Not, Now, Yet, .,.

Picture from Google Images: Glass Cannon