Imagine…

 

Being in a body where nothing makes sense,

Where thoughts lead you to things unnatural,

Where actions lead you to stares and scoffs.

Where the feelings of being trapped,

Plunges you into a never ending cycle of doubt.

Where the torments of each and every day,

Creates fear,

Of all the consequences.

It’s the people who,

Like me,

Suffer from,

the terror each day brings.

 

Imagine…

 

Being unable to do certain things,

Because how they see you.

Being unable to go outside and hang out,

Because of the negativity that follows.

Being unable to share emotions and comfort,

Due to people’s fear of the unknown.

Being unable to trust anyone,

For the fear rejection for who they really are.

Being unable to love anyone,

Because there is always someone else hidden away.

It’s the people who,

Like me,

Suffer from,

The isolation.

 

Imagine…

 

Being able to fall in love,

With more than one at a time.

To love more than one,

Not from one gender,

But two of the opposites,

And being shunned for doing so.

It’s people who,

like me,

Suffer every waking moment of every day,

With no escape or solitude.

I am Bisexual but no one really knows.

I have suffered for a while, being Bi. I was always a bit Bi-curious but I never thought much of it until I actually started dating a friend of mine, Aurora. She asked me if I wanted to go out with her and this was the opportunity to find out if I’m Straight or Bi. It really took a toll on me because before that point, I thought I was strange or unnatural for thinking girls were kind of cute/hot. It really bothered me because I didn’t have any LGBTQ+ friends so I genuinely thought there was something mentally wrong with me, until she came into my life. I realize now that there is nothing wrong with me. I’m just unique. I have found myself but I have yet to tell much of anyone. My mother knows only because she asked. My father I refuse to tell for fear of the consequence of him shunning me. My grandparents don’t know, I wont tell them. They are stull stuck in the times where different people are unwelcome. My extended family may never know and that’s alright with me. There will be a time where word gets out but I don’t see that happening for a while. I am content with where I am now and I have friends near and far who support me and love me for who I am. 

 

I am fortunate to be able to talk about this experience, some may never be able to get that chance to come out of the closet and there’s only one piece of advice I can give to anyone who is young and a part of the LGBTQ+ community like me or for anyone at all: Rely on the friends who accept you for who you are. If your friends back out of a friendship just because you identify as something, they don’t deserve to have you. Find people who will support you no matter what and become a part of a community. This advice applies for everyone.

 

Be yourself.

 

No one else can be you,

only you can.

 

 

 

 


Image edit by me in Photoshop